The House of Arts is the home of culture. The main building and the galleries can be found in the Veszprém Castle.
This collection is the most significant art collection of the works of constructivist artists in Hungary. The permanent exhibition includes the creations of artists such as Jenő Barcsay, István Haraszty, Francoise Morellet, Alan Charlton, Max Bill and other famous Hungarian and international artists.
In May 2014 the temporary exhibition room hosted the exhibition of works by the German visual artist Reinhard Roy while in July visitors can see the works of Dutch visual artist Bob Bonies.
As one of the most beautiful late Baroque style buildings of Veszprém, the Palace built in 1751, is the home of the visual art collection of Hungarian art collector Károly László. Besides the classic modern artists of the 20th century such as József Rippl-Rónai, Vilmos Aba-Novák and Pál,Molnár C, the greatest figures of the Bauhaus have a significant part in the collection. Lajos Kassák’s unique picture architectures can be found here just like the graphics and photos of the world-wide famous artist László Moholy-Nagy. The works of Victor Vasarely are also included into the permanent exhibition.
The Tegularium is a brick collection that can be found in the cellar of the Dubniczay Palace. It has unique roof tiles and various types of bricks on display. The exhibition showcases old tools for brick making and the usage of clay-based building materials through the
years, starting from the Roman Age.
The Csikász Gallery can be found in the gateway leading to the Fire Lookout Tower and it houses temporary exhibitions for the House of Arts. The gallery frequently offers guided tours of the temporary exhibitions, art appreciation programmes and often house audiences with various artists.
(8200 Veszprém, Erzsébet sétány 1.)
We tell stories, lives from the past, the present and the future: because “historia est magistra vitae”. The first artefacts of the county’s most significant and the longest established museum were the part of the collection in 1903, and we wait for the visitors in the building, which is among the trees of the Erzsébet parkland since 1925. The museum’s 330 000 pieces collection includes the folklore, archaeology, history, fine arts and crafts, literary history and the significant numismatic collection of Veszprém and Veszprém county.
(8200 Veszprém, Erzsébet sétány 3.)
Near the Dezső Laczkó Museum there is Bakony House, which is one of the earliest Hungarian open-air ethnographical museums. In 1935 it was built from public donations as a copy of a gentry’s landhouse of Öcs. The designers were László Nagy ethnographer and György Linzmayer architect.
Permanent exhibition: Times immemorial?!
(8200 Veszprém, Vár u. 2.)
On the Heroes’ Gate exhibition place, which was opened in 1939 and was renovated in 2013, visitors can learn about the building’s history, and the history of events and heroes of Veszprém during the revolution and freedom fight of 1848 and 1849, World Wars I and II, and revolution and freedom fight of 1956.
Fire Lookout Tower
(8200 Veszprém, Vár utca 9.)
On the south-western end of the castle there is the single tower of the castle, the 48 metres high Fire Tower. The Tower’s cylindrical part, which was made from crushed stone can be medieval, but we didn’t know the exact construction time. The Tower’s foundation is on the square’s level in front of the Castle hill, its entrance opened from the inner parts of the castle and it is several metres above the foundation. The tower’s floor plan can be found on survey drawings of Giulio Turco, the Emperor’s war engineer, which was made around 1570. The 17th century’s engravings illustrate a blocky tower in the place of Fire Tower. Near the Fire Tower around 1660 was built the south-west corner tower.
(8200 Veszprém, Vár u. 19.)
The new permanent exhibition, which entitled “The life of the minus third floor, Dungeon in the 21th century” is about not just the dungeon as a building and interest, but it demonstrates several exciting themes. In the exhibition there is a Jószef Mindszenty memorial room, an exhibition unit about the life of the inmates and the history of the oubliette, the exhibition entitled “Bakony outlaws on the hand of the pandours”, and visitors can see the slots, chapel, look-out tower, command room and the sanitary. Besides these, film projection waits for the visitors.
Permanent exhibition: The life of the minus third floor, Dungeon in the 21th century
On 23th October 2015 the Dungeon's permanent exhibition had got a new exhibition unit, which entitled as After ’56 in the shadows of the gallows-trees.
The exhibition, from 1956 to 1967 until the last execution, shows the sanctions period’s significant momentum in connection with Veszprém county. The visitors can come to know the life of Árpád Brusznyai, the deportation process, and with two cases, the legal action of Vaczkó and Hamusics – the two cases are in connection with 1956. In these cases the authorities investigated the conspiracy, which was committed with guns. In the exhibition they are commemorate the heroes, who were punished with death because their role in ’56.
In the exhibition there are precious reliquiaes, which were donated to the Dezső Laczkó Museum by Margit Brusznyai, the daughter of Árpád Brusznyai.
The Salesianum Archiepiscopal Tourist Centre awaits you in the Veszprém Castle.
Liturgical place to exhibit
The attic gallery was designed on the second floor of the building, where visitors can take a look on the day-to-day-life of the Archdiocese and can get to know the everyday use of liturgical objects. A liturgical calendar is cited by multimedia tools, liturgy devices are displayed for the visitors, they can also visit the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Veszprém’s store of sheet music and can listen to the musical creations from the 19-20th century. The visitors can take a virtual tip in the Archdiocese and in Veszprém via an interactive multimedia device, while they can discover the past and the present of the virtually visited places.
Four interior styled, fresco decorated baroque room awaits the visitors on the floor of the Salesianum. They can experience the atmosphere of the baroque world through contemporary artworks. Visitors have the opportunity to know more about former, well-known residents of the house, including Martin II. Padányi-Bíró the bishop of Veszprém, who was an outstanding patron of the artistic work in the diocese during the 18th century. They can admire the landscape themed frescos from the end of the 18th century, which can be found in every room on the given floor in an exigent quality, differently from the baroque practice. With the guidance of the “Picture-counter desk” it is possible to follow the work of the restorers and the wonderful alteration of the baroque rooms. In the other two rooms the hidden treasures of the Bishop Archive and Library are displayed: incunabula, scrapbooks- and albums, manuscripts, maps and certificates.
Room for the herbs of Halimba
At the right side of the entrance is the Halimba Medical-Herb-room, which displays the story of Dr. Miklós Szalai, also known as the “medical herb” priest from Halimba. The nationwide known herbalist was pronounced a charlatan before the transition, but later the Halimbárium medical herb mixtures were named after him. At the exhibition dried medical herb tableaus and glass covered containers show the medical-and culinary herbs, the recipes of the “medical herb” priest, and also some interesting information about medical herbs and herbal teas.
Show room for violin fabrication
Who does not longed for being the invisible viewer the birth of something new. Looking through a window, watching the smooth hand moves, while those hands are brushing the lumber with a plane again and again, always finding something to stroke the spot we thought was already perfect. Taking a deep breathe of the workshop’s scent, the scent from the bland, resin released from shavings, glue and vapor of plants. To be the witness how lumber turns into a soul touching musical instrument. Who does not longs for this…
In the workshop of Archdiocese Touristic Center of the Salesianum all of this is possible.
Violin always have got a special attention among the instruments. Its birth was surrounded with mystery. What is this secret? The lumber? The lacquer? The mater’s hands?
Elemér Sümegi’s workshop, in a small building in the court of Archdiocese Touristic Center of the Salesianum, can be visited since 2011. The baroque surrounding, in front of the Archbishop Palace, of the former Bíró – Giczey house or as the residents of Veszrpém known the “bird house” seemingly offered the establishment of the violin making workshop. The visitor can be the witness some workflow: formation of a new violin or cello, even old instrument’s restoration.
The carpenter tool collection from the 19th and early 20th century commemorates former artisan masters in the workshop.
Unusual lessons, group sessions, presentations are available with previous consultation for school-, work groups and group of friends.
Medical herb garden
The Halimbárium Medical Herb Garden can be found in the inner court, where the medical- and culinary herbs from the Halimba Medical Herb Room can be discovered. Every plant have a description, the visitors can find the origin, spread, beneficial effects and use of some species.
Phone number: +36 88/580-528, +36 20 431-8636
Web site: www.szalezianum.hu, www.sumegiviolin.com
E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org, email@example.com
Address: Veszprém, Vár utca 31.
The determining building of the Trinity square is the St Michael’s Cathedral.
The original St Michael’s Church, which probably dates back to the time of Prince Géza, was already mentioned in the Pannonhalma Charter (1001). The cathedral was destroyed by fire several times and the early 18th century saw the restoration of the original Romanesque red-white stone church in Gothic style. The undercroft was also constructed at that time. During a later rebuilding, the basilica lost its Baroque features: its towers were raised by several metres and reshaped in Romanesque style. The cathedral’s beauty is enhanced by the numerous glass windows depicting saints. The nave is barrel vaulted and it has a coffered wooden ceiling. The entrance to the undercroft is by the sanctuary and there you can see the armoried tomb of general and Bishop Péter Beriszló, leading to the larger chamber of Márton Padányi Bíró’s monument. St Michael’s Cathedral has guarded the relic of Queen Blessed Gisella, who played an important role in the construction of the church, since 1996.
The Tejfalussy House, which gives home to the collection of the Beatified Gizella Diocese Collection, was built in the early 1770s. The museum displays church relics from different churches: the legacy of bishops and prelates and the donations of queens. In the basement there is an impressive stone store giving a sample not only of the relics of the town but also of those of further regions. One of the most precious pieces of the collection is Albert Vetési’s orphrey decorated robe from the year 1480.
The Archbishop's Palace is one of the gems of Szentháromság tér.
Due to the renovation of the Archbishop's Palace until summer 2018. The Exhibition of Conciliation and Coronation 1867 can be seen in the canonical building of the Beatified Gizella Diocese Collection in Tejfalussy. (Veszprém, Vár street 35)
This building - erected in the place of the former Queen's Palace and the former Acsádi Palace - was built on the basis of Jakab Fellner's design. The Baroque palace was completed in 1776 but at the end of the 19th century the building as well as the frescoes had to be restored. The 20th century did not spare the building either, consequently, conservation work was necessitated again.
Permanent exhibition: Interieur exhibition, Memory of Queen Elisabeth and Queen Zita
The last renovation was completed in 1996 - the year of the millennium. On the ornamental front of the building we can see the coat of arms of the Koller family - a reminder of the fact that the palace was built on the order of Bishop Ignác Koller. With its inner terrace and garden the building also offers an imposing view from the eastern side of the Castle, from the valley. Several valuable paintings and works of art can be found in the palace. Among these the frescoes prepared by Cymbal I. Johann are outstanding. The episcopal and prebendal archives and library also operate in this building. The last renovation was completed in 1996 - the year of the millennium.
On the ornamental front of the building we can see the coat of arms of the Koller family - a reminder of the fact that the palace was built on the order of Bishop Ignác Koller. With its inner terrace and garden the building also offers an imposing view from the eastern side of the Castle, from the valley. Several valuable paintings and works of art can be found in the palace. Among these the frescoes prepared by Cymbal I. Johann are outstanding. The episcopal and prebendal archives and library also operate in this building.
We can find the remains of St George's Round Chapel by St Michael's Cathedral.
This was the place where the head relic of St George used to be guarded, attracting crowds of pilgrims. The Latin inscription IN LIMIE NO SEDETO (DO NOT SIT ON THE THRESHOLD) can still be read on the worn threshold of the chapel. St Stephen's only son, Prince St Emeric - who met an early death - vowed chastity here. The statue outside the chapel also depicts the young prince.
This episcopal or royal private chapel was built by Bishop Robertus. The walls are covered with Byzantie frescoes of the apostles painted in the 13th century which are among the oldest paintings in Hungary. Other unique traits of the chapel include its archstones.
Today’s Gothic building, which dates back to the 18th century, was almost completely destroyed in the Turkish period. The interior is one of the oldest in Hungary, making the chapel one of the most important sights of Veszprém.
Not only the keystones of the vaults are exceptionally rare and old but also the frescoes of the apostles decorating the walls since the 13th century. The chapel can be divided into three units: two squarish rectangular and a square-shaped chancels. The Chapel was renovated in the 1930s and the inscription visible on the altar “The faith of our ancestors, the hope of the future” was born at that time. Not only the keystones of the vaults are exceptionally rare and old but also the frescoes of the apostles decorating the walls since the 13th century.
The chapel can be divided into three units: two squarish rectangular and a square-shaped chancels. The Chapel was renovated in the 1930s and the inscription visible on the altar “The faith of our ancestors, the hope of the future” was born at that time.
The Piarist Church erected between 1828-1836.
The neo-classical building has a two-storey tower but it is still the lowest church of the Castle. We can read the inscription MMT on the wall; the abbreviation of the following Greek text: Mary, Jesus' mother. The painting on the high altar was painted in honour of St Emeric, the side-altars depict Piarist saints. The Saint Emeric and Garrison Church is the church of the Hungarian Army. The entrance is free, the church can not be visited during the winter.
Herend is the domestic citadel of the artistic porcelain-making. Because of the he Porcelanium visitor centre’s high-standard programmes we can spend our whole day with substantial relaxation if we visit this place.
Since the foundation of the Manufactory in 1826 many people would love to know the secret of the Herend porcelain-making. Today this dream became reality! It is a possibility to that the visitor can participate in a unique, special excursion in the buildings of the Porcelanium.
In the mini manufactory the first stop of the guided tour is the projecting room, where we can take a short travel with a 3D film in the world of Herend Porcelain. After the projecting the things, what we saw in the film, come to real. We can be spectators how became a heavy mass to light, fragile porcelain, how they format, make and paint the vilify material.
In the Museum the journey go through the Porcelanium square. The museum shows the history of the Herend Porcelain Manufactory, the development of the applied science, partially with the help of the products, old documents, photos, certifications, plaques. We can see Hungary oldest, world famous porcelain factory’s products, grouped separately the most beautiful, successful patterns, and in the different ages the products, which were made by different creators.
|Address:||8200 Veszprém, Óváros tér 2.|
|Date of event:||03/21/2016 - 03/26/2017|