We invite people, who interested in history and culture to the Dezső Laczkó Museum’s various and interesting exhibition places. More Shorter
(8200 Veszprém, Erzsébet sétány 1.)
We tell stories, lives from the past, the present and the future: because “historia est magistra vitae”. The first artefacts of the county’s most significant and the longest established museum were the part of the collection in 1903, and we wait for the visitors in the building, which is among the trees of the Erzsébet parkland since 1925. The museum’s 330 000 pieces collection includes the folklore, archaeology, history, fine arts and crafts, literary history and the significant numismatic collection of Veszprém and Veszprém county.
(8200 Veszprém, Erzsébet sétány 3.)
Near the Dezső Laczkó Museum there is Bakony House, which is one of the earliest Hungarian open-air ethnographical museums. In 1935 it was built from public donations as a copy of a gentry’s landhouse of Öcs. The designers were László Nagy ethnographer and György Linzmayer architect.
Permanent exhibition: Times immemorial?!
(8200 Veszprém, Vár u. 2.)
On the Heroes’ Gate exhibition place, which was opened in 1939 and was renovated in 2013, visitors can learn about the building’s history, and the history of events and heroes of Veszprém during the revolution and freedom fight of 1848 and 1849, World Wars I and II, and revolution and freedom fight of 1956.
Fire Lookout Tower
(8200 Veszprém, Vár utca 9.)
On the south-western end of the castle there is the single tower of the castle, the 48 metres high Fire Tower. The Tower’s cylindrical part, which was made from crushed stone can be medieval, but we didn’t know the exact construction time. The Tower’s foundation is on the square’s level in front of the Castle hill, its entrance opened from the inner parts of the castle and it is several metres above the foundation. The tower’s floor plan can be found on survey drawings of Giulio Turco, the Emperor’s war engineer, which was made around 1570. The 17th century’s engravings illustrate a blocky tower in the place of Fire Tower. Near the Fire Tower around 1660 was built the south-west corner tower.
(8200 Veszprém, Vár u. 19.)
The new permanent exhibition, which entitled “The life of the minus third floor, Dungeon in the 21th century” is about not just the dungeon as a building and interest, but it demonstrates several exciting themes. In the exhibition there is a Jószef Mindszenty memorial room, an exhibition unit about the life of the inmates and the history of the oubliette, the exhibition entitled “Bakony outlaws on the hand of the pandours”, and visitors can see the slots, chapel, look-out tower, command room and the sanitary. Besides these, film projection waits for the visitors.
Permanent exhibition: The life of the minus third floor, Dungeon in the 21th century
On 23th October 2015 the Dungeon's permanent exhibition had got a new exhibition unit, which entitled as After ’56 in the shadows of the gallows-trees.
The exhibition, from 1956 to 1967 until the last execution, shows the sanctions period’s significant momentum in connection with Veszprém county. The visitors can come to know the life of Árpád Brusznyai, the deportation process, and with two cases, the legal action of Vaczkó and Hamusics – the two cases are in connection with 1956. In these cases the authorities investigated the conspiracy, which was committed with guns. In the exhibition they are commemorate the heroes, who were punished with death because their role in ’56.
In the exhibition there are precious reliquiaes, which were donated to the Dezső Laczkó Museum by Margit Brusznyai, the daughter of Árpád Brusznyai.
|Address:||8200 Veszprém, Erzsébet sétány 1.|
|Phone number:||+36 88 426 081|
|Date of event:||07/21/2016 - 12/31/2019|